X-Pro1 a good option?

Hi everybody, I’m trying to decide which model Fujifilm to buy.

I understand the merits of having the latest model with the best technology, but I’m a fairly amateur photographer (with hopes of improving hugely with whichever camera I buy), however don’t think I necessarily need the best and latest at this stage. Having played around with X-Pro2 and X-T2 in the store, I like the feel and ergonomics of X-Pro2, and can buy a used X-Pro1 for a very good price (about AUD$550).

My question is whether the X-Pro1 is fast becoming obsolete, (even compared to the X-T1), because it was brought out in 2012, and because the X-Pro2 made so many substantial improvements on it.

If anybody is still using their X-Pro1, and can tell me that it does the trick for them, that would be very helpful to hear!

It’s worth saying too that video is not a priority for me – I love street photography, so with this in mind, would love to hear your thoughts. Also, am leaving Australia in a couple of months to travel indefinitely, so keeping on budget with this purchase is very important (although I don’t want to buy a camera that soon becomes useless comparatively).

Keen to hear all perspectives re X-Pro1/X-T1 and even X-T20, as my budget for a body is really limited around the AUD$1000 mark.

Many, many thanks in advance!

Charlotte

The X-Pro 1 is an excellent and extremely capable camera which at present is available at unbeatable prices.
Without stepping on your toes I would wager that it is a lot more capable than you are and that the ‘substantial’ improvements over it that the X-Pro 2 brings in your opinion, will not make you a better photographer or make your photographs better for a very long time to come.

I use an X-Pro 1, and X100T, a XQ1 and a IR-converted X10 … all of them ‘obsolete’ and all of them producing magnificent images - because the art is in your head and eye and (basic) photography skills, not in latest megapixel boasting gazillionK camera.