Print Help?

Hey!

First off let me say that the forum looks great and I’m excited to connect with more Fujifilm photographers.

I am an amateur photographer with no experience outside of the digital age. I’ve always posted everything online and I’ve never made a print.

Now that I’m that I’m producing work that I really enjoy I want to make some prints for display purposes, but I know absolutely nothing about printing. I was hoping you fine folks might be able to teach me the basics.

Here are my terribly stupid questions:

Does a print size need to match the aspect ratio of the image for it not to be distorted?

Is it better to print from a .JPG or some other file type?

Will my local Walmart actually make decent prints or is it better to go to a specialty shop (where I’m guessing they will charge more)?

Am I asking the right questions or missing important information?

Thanks!

Hi Conor,

I’ve been printing images for exhibitons before so I’ll try to answer those questions :slight_smile:

Ideally yes. The printer won’t distort your image but it will probably in most case crop it. If your file is 6000x4000px (XT2) then your print should be a 3:2 ratio. If you want to print another ratio you can open your file in an image editing app and crop to to another ratio.

A .JPG saved in quality 100 (or the best quality your image editing app is allowing) is good enough. The color profile should be RGB 1998 in most cases. I’ve printed both uncompressed 16bit TIFF files and JPEG files and there’s no differences.